Litfuse Group: “The Cat That God Sent” by Jim Kraus Book Tour

By Ruth on May 27, 2013 in book, review
3
0

Welcome to the blog tour for Jim Kraus’ latest novel, The Cat That God Sent (Abingdon Press). Readers are sure to enjoy Jim’s follow up release to The Dog That Talked to God (nominated for a CBA Book of the Year Award).

The Cat the God Sent Book Cover

{MORE ABOUT THE CAT THAT GOD SENT}

Meet Petey, your not-so-average cat—on a mission from God

Disillusioned young pastor, Jake Wilkerson, has just arrived at his new assignment in the small rural church of Coudersport, Pennsylvania. Also new on the scene is Petey, a cat of unknown origins and breed—but of great perception.

As Jake sets about doing the business of ministry, Petey’s continued interference brings chaos to the community of curiously off and eccentric people—residents like the faith-avoiding veterinarian Sally Grainger and Tassy, a young runaway with a secret. An expert at hiding his fears, Jake wonders if all this—and the cat to boot—is more than he can handle. What is Petey’s real “mission”? Perhaps something larger than Jake—or even Petey—can possibly know.

Purchase a copy here.

The Cat That God SentThe Cat That God Sent by Jim Kraus

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Who doesn’t like a good cat book? I love animals, and we have 14 cats, so this book resonated with me in a very special way. This book has it all. Realistic stories from a small, country town, animals, romance, loss of faith, and even some emotionally charged scenes. I have to say that I even cried during this book–that is saying something. This book is filled with humor, and I honestly believe there is something for everyone. It is clean and uplifting.

The most important thing I learned is that God can and will use anyone. This includes people and animals. After all, is God can use a donkey, why can’t he use a cat? The Christian message is cleverly woven into the story, and this is one that I would recommend to all. There are some hard issues in the book that many people will relate to.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

View all my reviews

 

The Dog That Talked to God Cover

Be sure to check out Jim’s The Dog That Talked to God which was nominated as an ECPA book of the Year (2013).

Publishers Weekly said, “Judge this book by its cover… and be charmed.” 

“The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned.” – New York Journal of Books

“Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man’s best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls.”  Rob Stennettauthor, Homemade Haunting and The Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher

“I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn’t what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more.” — Ane Mulligan, senior editor Novel Rocket

“Anyone who has loved a pet knows the sense of connection, of deep familiarity and acceptance, and even of a possible spiritual awareness. In The Dog That Talked to God, Jim Kraus offers a hard-to-put down story of Rufus, a miniature schnauzer who make a giant difference… Kraus has created an enjoyable and often hilarious read. Highly recommended.” — Congregational Libraries Today

MORE ABOUT THE BOOK:

Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief.  It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus…and God…knows.

The Dog That Talked to God by Jim Kraus

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had hoped I would like this book better than I did, but unfortunately, is was not to be. I love dogs, and the beginning of the book was fine. However, once our heroine had Rufus (the dog) “talk,” I really lost interest. I know that we tend to think that our animals talk, but this was just too much for me to accept.

There were some points of the book that did interest me. I was intrigued when Mary first got Rufus. And then about the middle of the book, there was an area that certainly got my attention. And her entire discussion of her love life and views on dating were pretty intriguing.

I really struggled with the fact that she continued to have Rufus pray to God for her. Eventually, that stops, but I felt like Mary never truly finds her faith again. The gospel message is truly lost in this book. It is neat that God brings along “signs” to show her that she is doing the right thing.

The book is clean, and the message is pure. For that reason alone, many people will probably enjoy the book. Rufus is certainly a cute, smart dog, but I just struggled to truly embrace this book.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

View all my reviews

Jim Kraus

Jim Kraus grew up in Western Pennsylvania and has spent the last twenty years as a vice president of a major Christian publishing house. He has written more than twenty books and novels, including the best-selling The Dog That Talked to God. He and his family live outside of Chicago with a sweet miniature Schnauzer and an ill-tempered Siberian cat named (of course) Petey. www.jimkraus.com

Find out more about Jim at

http://www.jimkraus.com

and

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=576383722

Follow the entire tour.

About the Author

RuthView all posts by Ruth
43-year-old single mother of an active 14-year-old girl Born in Tacoma, WA; lives in Yelm, WA Entertainment Writer Available For Interviews and Reviews Substitute Teacher

3 Comments

  1. Linda Bradshaw May 28, 2013 Reply

    I love books like this. I think the rest of my family will too.

  2. Giveaways 4 Mom May 29, 2013 Reply

    This sounds interesting. Not something I would normally read. But, I do like to switch it up from time to time.
    Giveaways 4 Mom recently posted…4 Entertaining Ways To Teach Your Kids The Value Of MoneyMy Profile

  3. This one is on my “to be read” shelf, looks great!

Add comment

Leave a Reply

Please know that comment moderation is in effect on this site. Comments may not appear immediately. Also, please note that any negative attacks on people, networks, or other comments that are deemed "inappropriate" or "overtly negative" may be removed and/or edited by the administrator.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

CommentLuv badge